WW Kyoto: Shuya Okino with Takeshi Yamaguchi, Masaki Tamura and Sara Aiko Live from y gion, Kyoto ‐ Worldwide FM

WW Kyoto: Shuya Okino with Takeshi Yamaguchi, Masaki Tamura and Sara Aiko Live from y gion, Kyoto


Monthly show from Kyoto, the Japan’s original capital city, presented by Shuya Okino, music tastemaker and member of Kyoto Jazz Massive. This broadcast showcases the sensibility and energy of Kyoto city with cohost Sara Aiko and guest DJs Takeshi Yagamuchi and Masaki Tamura.

WW Kyoto is direct from new venue y gion, a multipurpose cultural centre in Gion, Kyoto.

Shuya Okino

Shuya Okino is a Japanese DJ, songwriter, author and the producer of the popular music venue The Room in Shibuya, Tokyo.

Sara Aiko

Sara Aiko is the founder and creative director of Curated Kyoto. She shares her love for Kyoto through the internet as well as in-person tours.

Masaki Tamura

Masaki Tamura started DJing in 2003 and quickly became known for selecting both traditional and modern jazz music. He has also held various iconic events in Kyoto, including the crossover event Do it JAZZ!.

Takeshi Yamaguchi

Kyoto native Takeshi Yamaguchi has been influential in the jazz crossover scene for over 30 years and is currently the owner of record store and bar Hachi. Takeshi was one of the original members of Kyoto Jazz Massive and the owner of the legendary Club Collage. As a DJ he plays jazz with a deep knowledge and unique sense.


Listen now Tracklist

Masaki Tamura //

Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers – KYOTO [Blue Note Records]
Maiden Voyage – Kelly Pattersnn [Black Jazz]
hino terumasa – Still Be Bop [Flying Disk]
Stanley Cowell – I’m Tryin To Find A Way [Galaxy]
Archie Shepp – Blues For Brother George Jackson [impulse!]
Ezra Colleative – Space is The Place [Enter The Jungle]

Takeshi Yamaguchi //

Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers – No Problem [fontana]
Jack Wilson – Do It [Blue Note]
Wills Jackson – Nuther’n Like Thuther’n [Prestige]
The Cannonball Adderley – Rumpelstiltskin! [capital]
Kenny Drew Trio – All Blues [Steeple Chase]
Karin Korg and European All Stars – Maiden Voyage [MPS]
Billy Taylor Trio – Brother Where Are You? [PAUSA]
Joe Pass,Ray Brown,Milt Jackson and Mickey Roker – Caravan [PABLO]
Luis Gasca – A Love Supreme [Fantasy]
Yusef Lateef – A Night In Tunisia [Savoy]
Frank Wess – Blues For Butterball [Prestige]
Horace Parlan – Congalegre [Blue Note]
Miles Davis & Michel Legrand – Concert On The Runway [Warner Brothes]
Bill Evans – 1st movement b [MPS]
Roland Kirk – Domino [Mercury]
Sheila Jordan – Pearlie’s Swine [East Wind]

Shuya Okino //

Manhattan Blaze – Luisiana Strut [Better Days]
Tatsuya Takahashi & Tokyo Union – Black Pearl [Zen]
Mine Kohsuke – Sunshower [East Wind]
Mabumi Yamaguchi – Distant Thunder [Union]

Related Shows