QC Radio: King Hippo with Cecil Thomas and Material ‐ Worldwide FM

QC Radio: King Hippo with Cecil Thomas and Material


QC Radio is a weekly look at the creativity flowing through the City of Chicago. We’ll hear from Chicago-based musicians, DJs, record stores, journalists, labels and parties. This season is curated by broadcaster, event producer and member of the International Anthem family, King Hippo.

Today, QC Radio is letting the records spin; Cecil Thomas and Material share some music they’ve been digging lately – turn up your speakers and enjoy.

Listen now Tracklist

QC Radio 019

Cecil Thomas:

Sun Ra – Space Is The Place [Sweet Earth Records]

illyB – Kinshasa [Amulet Records]

Ananda Shankar – Streets of Calcutta [EMI Records]

Dabrye – Air ft. DOOM [Ghostly Records]

Aswad – Hey Jah Children [Takoma Records]

The Pearls – Groovy Beat (Jura Soundsystem Edit) [Isle of Jura Records]

GUTS – Daddy Sweet [Heavenly Sweetness Records]

The Hot 8 Brass Band – Shake Your Body/Remember The Time [Tru Thoughts Records]

Lord Echo – Terabu [Wonderful Noise Records]

People Under The Stairs – Tuxedo Rap (Extended Disco Mix) [Tres Records]

Nonku Phiri – Sifo ft. Dion Monti [Soundway Records]

William & The Young Five – You Turn Me On (J-Kriv Rework) [Soundway Records]

Specter – Pitchin Quarters [Into The Deep Records]

Ben Hixon – Undone [New Math Records]

Darryn Jones – Gibberish ft. Doc Brucio [Durty Truth Records]

Tortoise – C.T.A. [Chocolate Industries Records]

Kahil El’Zabar – Our Time Is Now (IG Culture Remix) [Deeper Soul Records]

Ability II – Pressure Dub [Strut Records]

D^Bo – JAM (Original Mix) [Do Over Records]

Sade – Love You More (Time is Dubbing Out Remix) [White Label]


Danny Paulette and Mimi Paulette – Cheap Shot [Quiet Night Records]

Jordan Rakei – Wind Parade [Blue Note]

Joao Donato – Cala Boco Menino [Odeon]

Wanderlea – Mane Joao [Polydor]

Morita Vargas – Garganta [Hidden Harmony Recordings]

Melome Clement & L’International Orchestre Poly-Rhythmo – Dodji Mi Na Wa Dou Gbe [Disques Tropiques]

Dionisio Maio – Dia Já Manché [Carlia Cox]

Sir Shina Peters & His International Stars – Sewele [S. P. Records]

The Group NSI – Moin Epi Vou [Da’N Records]

Jimmy Smith – Take This Message [Gladys Records]

Pete Richards – Baby Its You [Uniwave]

The Big Dudes – Kiss Kiss [Family]

Condry ‘Skorokoro’ Ziqubu – Shes Impossible [CPP Recording Company]

Scarro Baloyi – Watch Out [D.P.M.C]

Third World – Lagos Jump [Columbia]

Merchant – Instant Funk [Kaisoca Records Limited]

Kwaku Duah Pozo Hayes – Gaye Su [K Sounds Records]

Banana Hill Gang – Fresh [A.I.T Records (Kenya) Ltd.]

Mad Honey – Upward Bound [Space Grapes]

Jivaro – What Next (Dub Mix) [Super Beat]

ATF Underground Presents KC – Dreaming [ATF Inc.]

Felipe Gordon – El Meloncito [Toy Tonics]

Samii – Here To Luv Myself [2000 Black]

Spiritual Exposure – Dancin in Heaven (Heavenly Vibes Mix) [Heaven Bound Records]

Maye Ervin – What is It (Dance Mix) [Music International]

Paula Obimgba – Girl! I Want You [Dan Records]

Blackulture Productions – African Bells (Monchan Waide Remix) [Dailysession Recordings]

Darryn Jones – Revolution [Durty Truth Records]

Imani – Danger Zone (Club Mix) [W.A.T.U Records]

Mystery – Love Dance [Bump]

Terry Mackson – Love Letter to Johny [Supremedisk]

Robo Arigo & His Konastone Majesty – Them Crazy [Supreme Stars International]

Uzii Kris – Boogie Down [Simodisk Records]

Rena – Dance It Off [Factory Beat Records]

Chas Jankel – Am I Honest With Myself Really? [A&M Records]

Hurricanes – Sea Waves [Buffalo]

Rideout – Someone Special (Vocal) [Hot Licks Records]

Related Shows