Kate Hutchinson with Benin City ‐ Worldwide FM

Kate Hutchinson with Benin City


Monthly show from Kate Hutchinson, Guardian music and culture journalist, broadcaster and DJ from London. She is also the former Clubbing Editor at Time Out and is still waiting impatiently for the fidget-house revival.

Photography Martin Eito.

For her first show of the year, Kate plays through some highlights to look forward to in 2018 and new artists to watch out for, from Puma Blue to Peggy Gou and from Avon Blume to Dan Avery, with the usual freestyle mix of tropical trax to club jams and help from Joshua Idehen of London trio Benin City, who performs some spoken word live and discusses their forthcoming album that celebrates and laments London’s nightlife.


Listen now Tracklist

The Pumphouse Gang – Welcome Back To My Life [Little Black Records]
Sean Kuti – Black Times (feat. Carlos Santana) [Strut Records]
Young Fathers – In My View [Ninja Tune]
Benin City – Final Form [White Label]
IAMDDB – Shade [Union IV Recordings]
Jamila Woods – LSD (feat. Chance The Rapper) [Closed Sessions]
Everything Is Recorded – Show Love (ft. Syd and Sampha) [XL Recordings]
Puma Blue – Only Trying 2 Tell U [Unknown]
Kokoroko – Abusey Junction [Brownswood Recordings]
Basa Basa – Homowo [Peach River Records]
K15 – Sunbeams [Eglo]
JD Reid – Just Know (Feat. Henry Wu, Venna and D Double E) [Baby Gravy]
Penya – Iyesa [On The Corner]
The Survivals – My Brother [Soundway]
Benin City – Take Me There [Moshi Moshi Records]
Eklipse – East Manna Man [0790Music]
Peggy Gou – It Makes You Forget (Itgehane) [Ninjatune]
Avon Blume – Factory Tides [Onloop]
XOA & Contours – Express [Banana Hill]
Mappa Mundi – Trance Fusion (Hunee Tempo Edit) [Rush Hour]
Alma Negra – Berimbau [Alma Negra Records]
Daniel Avery – Slow Fade [Mute Records]

Related Shows


Kate Hutchinson