Future Nostalgia: Atiyyah Khan with Tefo Mahola ‐ Worldwide FM

Future Nostalgia: Atiyyah Khan with Tefo Mahola


South African music journalist, DJ, and researcher Atiyyah Khan (El Corazon) digs out gems, past and present. The show is an extension of the music collective she co-founded in Cape Town called Future Nostalgia, which has hosted listening sessions in the city for the past eight years.

For this week’s show, Atiyyah features an all-South African jazz line-up. Her special guest feature includes a lengthy in-studio interview with talented, young drummer Tefo Mahola aka “Talking Drum” about his debut album First Offering, released last year. She also features Happenstance, the latest sonic work by multi-instrumentalist Shane Cooper and various collaborators. This show is dedicated to the memory of Ma Mpumi Moholo, who passed away early in January – the wife of drummer Louis Moholo-Moholo.

Listen now Tracklist

1. Salaam- Kyle Shepherd Trio ft. Lionel Loueke and Mthunzi Mvubu 

2. You aint gonna know me ‘cos you think you know me – Louis Moholo-Moholo Octet

3. Volunteered Slavery/Ixesha – Louis Moholo-Moholo’s Viva La Black

4. Stay Cool – Tete Mbambisa

5. Umdrah – Joe Malinga 

6. Spring – Chris Schilder Quintet Ft. Winston Mankunku

7. Afrika Entsha – Herbie Tsoaeli

7. Lazy Bones – The Heshoo Beshoo Group

8.  First Offering – Tefo Mahola

9. The Tear – Tefo Mahola

10. Mollo, The Fire – Tefo Mahola

11. Kea Leboha – Tefo Mahola

12. I’m Sorry – Tefo Mahola

13. Black Man – Tefo Mahola

14. Shades of Blue-Green – Tefo Mahola

15. Happenstance Episode One: Static – Shane Cooper, Cara Stacey, Bokani Dyer and Daliwonga Tshangela

*Backing track : Mr K by Bokani Dyer.