Atiyyah Khan presents Future Nostalgia Collective ‐ Worldwide FM

Atiyyah Khan presents Future Nostalgia Collective


South African music journalist, DJ, and researcher Atiyyah Khan (El Corazon) digs out gems, past and present. The show is an extension of the music collective she co-founded in Cape Town called Future Nostalgia, which has hosted listening sessions in the city for the past eight years.

For the first time ever, the Future Nostalgia Collective – including Atiyyah, Grant Jurius (Futurist) and Graeme Arendse (Boeta G) – take an in-depth retrospective look back at eight years of their existence hosting listening sessions in South Africa. As a space to gather and rooted in the ideals of community and listening together, they look back at their humble beginnings in jazz club, The Mahogany Room back in 2013. Together they discuss their history and evolution in sound, including paying tribute to important figures that contributed to growing their community over the years. They also select some tunes representative of the Future Nostalgia sound.

Listen now Tracklist

1. Illya Kuryakin – Ike Bennet & The Crystalites (El Corazon)

2. I Would Die 4 U – Prince (El Corazon)

3. Spirits Up Above – Rahsaan Roland Kirk (Boeta G)

4. Yakhal’inkomo – Winston Mankunku Ngozi (Boeta G)

5. Umdali – Sibusile Xaba with Naftali, Fakazile Nkosi, & AshK (Futurist)

6. Black Goddess – Remi Kabaka (Boeta G)

7. Mali Feeling – Kapingbdi (Boeta G)

8. Lifetime (Lifeline) – Madlib (Futurist)

9. Steppin’ Into Tomorrow – Madlib ft.Donald Byrd (El Corazon)

10. Africa – Sathima Bea Benjamin (El Corazon)

11. Festa de Umbanda – Martinho da Vila (Futurist)

12. Cherry – Basil Coetzee & Lionel Pillay (El Corazon)

13. Chameleon – Monty Alexander (Boeta G)

14. Chameleon – Jazz Warriors (Boeta G)

16. Bayadjourou – Sory Bamba (Futurist)

18. Adin Gbanzon – Orchestre T. P. Poly-Rythmo De Cotonouby (Futurist)

19. Five Hundred Miles – Mamman Sani (El Corazon)

Backing tracks:

*Just the Yellow Bits – Teens

*Wind loop – Teebs