WW Glasgow: Rebecca Vasmant with Aku and DJ Format ‐ Worldwide FM

WW Glasgow: Rebecca Vasmant with Aku and DJ Format


Two hour show focusing on the Glasgow music scene. Rebecca Vasmant hosts  guests who have been influential parts of the scene with their clubs and input over the last two decades. Together they detail the scene, play some records and portray their vision of the city they call home.

For this show, Rebecca is joined by the sax-bone-drums trio AKU for a live session and the genre-bending DJ Format.


AKU are an explosive sax-bone-drums trio made up of three of the UK’s most monstrous musicians! Claiming the new genre of doom-jazz, they play a mix of their own material and covers of artists like Shabaka Hutchings, Fela Kuti and Young Fathers. Having played a lot with each other beforehand in different projects, AKU have been going for over two years. Their debut album will be released in March, 2019.
Harry Weir – tenor/baritone saxophone/effects
Liam Shortall – trombone/tuba/effects
Graham Costello – drums

DJ Format

The genre-bending record master DJ Format will be joining Rebecca in the studio. He will be talking about his influences from soulful, funk-fuelled Hip Hop packed with infectious beats and lyrical dexterity to his releases and works.
Listen now Tracklist

The Expansions – Mosaic [Alberts Favourites]
James L’estrange Orchestra – Balanced Out [BBE]
James L’estrange Orchestra – Always Something [BBE]
Dr Haki R. Madhubuti – Rain Forest [Rise Records]
Yatha Bhuta Jazz Combo – The Time Is Now [All City Dublin]
Jay Hoggard – Listen In Silence [India Navigation]
Wolfgang Dauner Quartet – Take Off Your Clothes To Feel The Setting Sun [MPS]

Aku Live Session

DJ Format

Head – Earthsong Suite [Canon Records Limited]
Gibson Kente – “How Long” Album Overture [Gallo Record Company]
Chucho Valdes – Sonidos Siderales [Areito]
Hans Dulfer And Ritmo Naturel – Dit Is Het Begin [EMI Music Netherlands]
Antonio Adolfo & A Brazuca – Voo De Apolo [Odeon]
Walt Dickerson – Unity [Audio Fidelity]
Made In Sweden – Sombrero Sam [Universal Music]
Sedition Ensemble – Random Collisions [Context Music]
The University Of Miami Concert Jazz Band – Seventh Sign [Mantua Records]
Chip Wickham – Red Planet [Lovemonk]
Don’t Problem – Green Island [Self Released]

Related Shows