WW Tokyo: Toshio Matsuura with Gilles Peterson and Daisuke Tanabe live from WIRED HOTEL Asakusa ‐ Worldwide FM

WW Tokyo: Toshio Matsuura with Gilles Peterson and Daisuke Tanabe live from WIRED HOTEL Asakusa


Toshio Matsuura presents his fortnightly two hour music program, WW Tokyo. One of the founding members of the U.F.O. (United Futures Organisation), Toshio has remained a leader in the Tokyo nightlife scene for years.

WW Tokyo is live from WIRED HOTEL ASAKUSA.

Toshio welcomes Daisuke Tanabe and Gilles Peterson. Daisuke will perform live and Toshio and Gilles discuss about the 30 year history of Gilles’ love affair with Japan.

Daisuke Tanabe

Daisuke Tanabe is an electronic musician and producer based in Chiba, Japan. A former art student who spent some time living in London, Tanabe originally came from a techno/breakbeat background before developing the unique experimental compositions he’s become known for. While still living in London, he released his 2006 debut EP, Gas, which brought him to the attention of well-known British DJs like Gilles Peterson. He continued to develop his unusual mix of hip-hop, electronica, jazz, and folk through various EPs and singles, all leading up to his debut album, 2010’s Before I Forget. A collaboration with Britain’s Kidkanevil under the name Kidsuke followed in 2012. Two years later in 2014, he released his second album, the intricately detailed “Floating Underwater” and just released his new EP “Cat Steps” from India’s Knowmad Records.

Gilles Peterson

Listen now Tracklist

Aretha Franklin – What A Fool Believes [Columbia]
Frazelle – Today Is The Day (Linkwood Chop) [Athens of the North]
Christian Gaubert – Sweet And Fool Like A Child [Production Dessine]
Auntie Flo – Cape Town Jam [Brownswood]
DJ Madd – Booty Wine [RKS Dubz]
Zakka Percussion – Metis [unknown]
United Future Organization – Enter at Own Risk [Talkin Loud]
Oscar #Worldpeace – No White God [Worldpeace]
Webster Lewis – El Bobo [Epic]
Richard Evans – Capricorn Rising [BBE]
Dave Valentine – Clove & Cinnamon [Arista]
Karma – Kwanzaa [Horizon]
John Thomas & Lifeforce – Maryke [Nabel]
Harris Simon Group – North Station [Overseas]
Michael White – Let Love Be Your Magic Carpet [Elektra]
Marvin Holmes and Justice / Summer Of ’73 [Brown Door]